ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

Better Than I’ve Ever Been and Everywhere You Never Been

Posted in movies, music, tv by arcanedufresne on December 30, 2007

This is a list constructed from my own personal opinion, and also to the best of my recollections. I never realized how hard it was to think about everything that happened this year until you actually sit down and try to do it. Regardless, here is my Best of 2007 List staring of course with the most important:

Hip-Hop

  1. Lupe Fiasco – The Cool
  2. Brother Reade – Rap Music
  3. Jay-Z – American Gangster
  4. Talib Kweli – Eardrum
  5. Ghostface Killah – The Big Doe Rehab

Everything Else

  1. Paramore – Riot!
  2. Bloc Party – A Weekend In the City
  3. Feist – The Reminder
  4. Tegan and Sara – The Con
  5. M.I.A. – Kala (which could maybe fit under hip-hop also but I couldn’t justify it taking a way from a more deserved artist that should be in the top 5)

Movies (That I saw, and I’m sorry I couldn’t limit this one to only 5 picks)

  1. Transformers
  2. Stomp the Yard
  3. Superbad
  4. Paprika
  5. 300
  6. Hot Rod & Hot Fuzz (These two get lumped together due to similar titles and to save a spot for an extra film)
  7. American Gangster

 

Books

  1. The only books I remember reading this year were textbooks, comic books and all of the Harry Potters

TV

  1. The Office
  2. Flight of the Conchords
  3. 30 Rock
  4. Man Vs. Wild*
  5. Curb Your Enthusiasm

*Despite the allegations and shammery that clouded this show, I couldn’t exclude it from the list due to what it stood for as a building block towards brotherhood this past summer.

So there it is. If you have any disputes, air your grievances as necessary.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. smellsworth said, on January 2, 2008 at 10:12 AM

    I feel like you missed some good movies if that is really your list.

    I have some book recomendations should you ever decide that you want to read some.

    I haven’t sunk much time into any of the music you have on your lists, outside of BR, which to be honest hasn’t hit home for me as of yet. I am waiting for a day when I am truly ‘chillin’ to listen intently. T & S would definitely be on my list though, absolutely a breakthrough album for those two.

    Despite our differences, I always welcome the presence of a friend in the blogosphere.


Leave a Reply

