ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

The Ten Pt. 2

Posted in music by arcanedufresne on January 7, 2009

As promised but a day late is my top ten albums of 2008 from everything not hip-hop. At the very least give these a listen if you haven’t because each one is deserving of it’s spot.

The Best of the Rest of 2008
10] Santogold – Santogold

I was blown away when I first saw the video for L.E.S. Artistes earlier this year not only by the visuals in the video but also the song and luckily the entire album was gold.

9] M83 – Saturdays=Youth

Every time I listened to this I felt like I was in the middle of a dramatic scene of a John Hughes movie, except darker, but this is a good thing.

8] Coldplay – Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends

You know how I know you’re gay? Coldplay in your top ten of ’08. Suck it, Jigga is on the remix of Lost on the EP.

7] Department of Eagles – In Ear Park

This might have gotten a higher spot on the chart if I had more time to listen to it, but a fantastic record nonetheless. They’re also coming to town in a week and a half.

6] Foals – Antidotes

I think that they are from Sweden or Denmark or some weird place like that, but this was a indie/ambient/math rock mixture that had me hooked for quite a while this summer.

5] TV on the Radio – Dear Science

The TV boys were number one for the year on a lot of people’s lists and I definitely commend their excellent efforts.

4] Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

Fleet Foxes recorded this record in an empty 200 year old church in Nova Scotia. Well not really, but it sounds like it, and it would be awesome if they did.

3] Girl Talk – Feed the Animals

I debated whether too include Girl Talk’s new drop on the list because it is so much different than all of the others but it couldn’t be categorized as hip-hop either. Big ups to Greg Gillis (or something like that) and holler at Pittsburgh. They also did a profile of him on NPR that I heard on my commute one night.

2] Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago

I can’t remember his name, but I think it’s Justin. Anyway, the story about what drove him to write the songs and the origins of Bon Iver are sad and inspiring, but I can imagine hearing these being sung in a cabin in the woods next to a fire eating slabs of bacon with a dog named Wallace at my side.

1] Vampire Weekend – Vampire Weekend

These bastards sound like a bunch of stuck up Brit prep rockers, but really they are just some elitist New York grad school boat show-wearing prep rockers, and I’m not sure which I hate more. I absolutely love this album despite their flaws.

There you have it. The best of the year. If you don’t like it, kick rocks haters.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. smellsworth said, on January 12, 2009 at 10:55 AM

    I got off the grind long enough to check out some of these drops. Good list.

  2. a said, on March 2, 2009 at 5:13 PM

    favorite post. ever.

    esp. about vampire weekend.


Leave a Reply

