ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

The Ghost of 103 Forrest

Posted in home by arcanedufresne on September 25, 2009

A while back I was pretty sure there was a ghost dog in my room and if you want the whole story ask one of my roommates, but after last night I am almost certain that we have ghosts.

Last night, after falling into slumber, I woke with a small start in the middle of the night. As you can imagine I was mildly disoriented and still unsure what woke me. Once I started gaining some recognition of the late hour, I noticed my blankets felt weird on me. (Background information to help the story’s clarity, I sleep with a reversible comforter [one side tan, one side brown], a dark blue medium weight blanket in the middle, and then a light brown striped sheet as the inside layer.) After a few more seconds, I realized that it felt strange because my comforter was the first blanket layer on top of me, so I half-way sat up and began fidgeting with the covers to see if I had somehow kicked the other two blankets down to the bottom of the bed. I sat up a little more and in the pale moonlight, thought “That’s weird, my comforter was on the brown side, not the tan side when I went to sleep…” and it was then I came the understanding that the light brown striped sheet was actually on top, with the blue blanket in the middle, and the comforter on top of me. All three layers were laid out perfectly, as if someone had tucked me in this way, not in a manner that suggests I had thrashed enough in my sleep to cause this blanket reversal.

Is there honestly any possible way this could have “accidentally happened” whilst I was sleeping? Unless I partook in some sort of sleep-walking shenanigans and managed to switch everything quite neatly and then climb back into bed without any memory of the actions, I maintain that some prankster ghost, possibly a shape-shifter as well, had a good laugh last night.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. annie said, on September 25, 2009 at 5:24 PM

    My question is, are we still on Summer blankets and that’s why there’s not 45 more specific layers to attend to?

    Btw, that’s messed up. I don’t think you ever sleep walk but I did dream about you last night. Maybe I did it through the dream tubes.

    • arcanedufresne said, on September 30, 2009 at 1:04 PM

      Listen, it was still summer sheets. 3 layers.


Leave a Reply

