ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

Kurt Vile

Posted in music by arcanedufresne on October 7, 2009

I read Mishka’s review of the new Kurt Vile album and said to myself, “Who the eff is this guy? Album of the year?”

Photobucket

So I went to hypem and listened to a handful of tracks and was reallllly digging his stuff. One track that really stuck out to me was Overnite Religion. Recently I compiled a mix of organic, lo-fi, meandering, “fall” music and I would put this on there in a heartbeat. Go give it a listen. It might be right up your alley, or it might not but maybe you’ll discover a new love.

When I was Google image searching for a picture of him, I saw one that looked familiar and then realized that I saw it on the R5 Promotions website and that he is coming to Philly sometime in the near future, which I may have to check out.

Edit: While listening to some more of his stuff, on the song Dead Alive it struck me that he sounds a bit like Scott Walker on 30 Century Man

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lefebves said, on October 7, 2009 at 11:13 PM

    oh i like it he is awesome

    • arcanedufresne said, on October 12, 2009 at 11:55 AM

      I am glad he has another listener now.


Leave a Reply

