ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Posted in home, music by arcanedufresne on December 10, 2009

With the approach of the Holidays drawing, I’ve been finding myself turning my radio dial to the stations that play Christmas tunes 24/7 and turning my iPod onto shuffle songs in the Holiday/Christmas genre while I make dinner at night. I decided to make a list of my top 5 all time favorite Christmas songs. I feel like I may be missing something on the list but for now this is it:

  • Nat King Cole – The Christmas Song
  • Vince Guaraldi Trio – Christmastime Is Here
  • Bing Crosby – White Christmas
  • John Lennon & Yoko Ono – Happy Christmas (War Is Over)
  • Frank Sinatra – I’ll Be Home for Christmas

(It is only just now that I realized that all of my absolute favorites involve the word Christmas in the title of the song.)

An all-time list wouldn’t be complete without an honorable mention section as well, and the majority of these are on here due to the memories they are associated with from being home for Christmas:

Anything from Manheim Steamroller and Amy Grant (thanks Mom and Dad), Mele Kalikimaka (The Hawaiian Christmas song from Christmas Vacation, which is the first movie I remember seeing in the theatres. I went with my parents and my aunt Tammy and uncle Todd), Christmas is a Comin’ by Bing Crosby, and You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch by Thurl Ravenscroft.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. KBowden said, on December 10, 2009 at 2:10 PM

    Baby it’s cold outside-Dean Martin

    • arcanedufresne said, on December 10, 2009 at 3:17 PM

      Well played, sir.


Leave a Reply

