ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

Cliff Kaufman can do kickflips

Posted in history, iowa, skateboarding by arcanedufresne on January 27, 2010

When I first started really getting into skateboarding in high school, Transworld was really starting to hit their stride with their skate video releases at the time. To this day, Modus Operandi and The Reason will forever be two of my favorite videos of all-time. The collection of skaters, the soundtrack, the montages; they were all so fitting and inspiring for that time in my life and the summers were spent skating from sun up to sun down (and beyond) in the blazing Iowa summer heat and humidity. I still find myself thinking about skating our local spots: The Motor Bank, The Loading Dock, The Handicap Ramp, The Pool and The Pit. I think about tricks that were done (even being amateurs, inevitably someone threw down something dope), the times we had and definitely the altercations that we encountered (Birdman, People Live Here Blob, Full of Shit Kid, etc.) simply from riding on a piece of wood with some skates on it, man.

The reminiscing is a product of listening to Neil Young lately, which in turn lead me to playing Built To Spill and if there is one band that was a constant throughout skate sessions throughout the years, Built To Spill was definitely it. Built To Spill lent their tracks to Transworld for Cairo Foster’s part in The Reason (Carry the Zero) and Marc Johnson’s part in Modus Operandi (The Plan). Marc Johnson is one of the most entertaining skaters to watch both as a personality and with his aptitude on a board. His style was fluid and smooth, technically adept and creative. He patched together sick lines on the regular including some of his trademark tactical manuals. I plan on digging out Tilt Mode, Man Down, Yeah Right, Fully Flared and Modus Operandi this weekend and having a Marc Johnson tribute. Call if you want to join. Wear your Westmar Connection shirt if you’ve got it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

With the exception of Brian Anderson (sorry Burns) this is my Big Three:
Photobucket

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Matt Ellsworth said, on January 27, 2010 at 2:47 PM

    This makes me feel terrible. I know it shouldn’t, but it does. It’s rare that I feel like I lost my way, but I just want to skate right now. Throw it all away and skate. You tossed me into internal crisis mode for the rest of the day.

    • arcanedufresne said, on January 28, 2010 at 10:38 AM

      Don’t let it discourage you dude. When the weather turns, grab your deck and just go bomb a hill or do some flat ground.


Leave a Reply

