ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

Oh Mama, I wanna go surfin’

Posted in movies, sports, travel by arcanedufresne on February 22, 2010

Ty and I watched Bruce Brown’s The Endless Summer this weekend. It was his first viewing and for me the first time I had seen it in probably 10 years. It was still as magical as I remember, and Bruce Brown’s narration is cheeky, cheesy, mildly derogatory and pure gold. Do yourself a favor if you haven’t seen this film and give it a view, especially now if you live in a place that has been pummeled by snow and winter, this is a great escape to help you get through the last few weeks of winter. I’ve never been surfing (goes back to that growing up landlocked situation), but if anyone has some expertise and wants to teach me, let’s find a beach.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And of course the quintessential surfer accessory, the Woodie Wagon
Photobucket

Edit: Of course, Nick from A Time To Get and myself are on the same wavelength for Monday. After posting this I went over to his blog to see how he started off the week and it was eerily similar and equally amazing.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tim said, on February 23, 2010 at 12:50 AM

    I’ve surfed three times. If you want to plan a trip (Cali or Hawaii) include me. I’d love to go again

  2. Tim said, on February 23, 2010 at 12:51 AM

    Sidenote- I wasn’t great any of those times, but it was still super fun. I took lessons from a leathery 45 year old Hawaiian who talked like a poor Zach Morris.

    • arcanedufresne said, on February 23, 2010 at 11:57 AM

      Hawaii some day would be fantastic.


Leave a Reply

