ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

Surfer Daze

Posted in art, music, musings/writings/creations by arcanedufresne on March 1, 2010

As promised, my cassette project is slowly coming to fruition. The first tape is 85% done, as all the artwork and case construction is finished. Now the last step is to transfer the playlist I have created onto the actual cassette tape and then…Enjoy.

The first step was to use an insert from an old cassette and measure it out so that when I started drawing my insert art, it would fold up and fit nicely in the comfort of the case. Here is the insert, prior to folding, which I drew on engineering paper (thanks AM), and then glued onto some thicker cardstock to make it more durable. I then covered the insert with a layer of packing tape to act as a protective laminate.

Photobucket

Due to my workspace constraints and lighting, the playlist on this may be a little hard to read, but I tried to display it here. For those of you who can’t make out the songs, which is probably everyone, the playlist is as follows:

    Side 1

Jan & Dean – Surf City
Dick Dale & His Del-Tones – Surf Beat
The Drums – Let’s Go Surfing
The Trashmen – Walk, Don’t Run
The Vivian Girls – He’s Gone
Surfer Blood – Neighbour Riffs
The Beach Boys – Good Vibrations

    Side 2

Dum Dum Girls – Jail La La
Jerry Cole & His Spacemen – Point Panic
Wavves – To the Dregs
Rhythm Rockers – Moondawg
Best Coast – Sun Was High (So Was I)
The Revels – Comanche
Girls – Lust for Life
The Sandals – Theme from “Endless Summer”

Photobucket

Here is the insert neatly nestled into it’s casing and the front of the finished project.

Photobucket

The spine with my fictitious record label imprint seen as the K&Q with the crown on top, standing for King & Queen Records. Also, you can see a unique “serial number” which I hope to keep going in a sequential order for future copies from the mixtape project.

Photobucket

The back cover with a view of the track listing.
Photobucket

I found a blank tape at Goodwill still in it’s plastic wrap, and inside were the blank labels as well. I tagged it up with the Surfer Daze “logo” I had created and made sure to YES in the N.R. box.

Photobucket

Lastly, the two side-by-side as I revel for a moment before I start work on the next in the series, “Crazy Mountain Ranch”. Check back for progress on the western front.

Photobucket

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AM said, on March 1, 2010 at 9:55 PM

    You are most welcome, dear. I love the finished product–bleeding ink and all. I think it adds to the overall effect.

    • arcanedufresne said, on March 1, 2010 at 11:25 PM

      I begrudgingly love the bleeding ink because I know it looks better but it makes me so upset with myself.

  2. mook said, on March 2, 2010 at 11:30 AM

    looks like blood in the water

    • arcanedufresne said, on March 2, 2010 at 12:02 PM

      I like the sound of that.


Leave a Reply

