ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

Summer Girls

Posted in music by arcanedufresne on April 8, 2010

As the temperature gauge on my Cobalt read 90 and 91 on Tuesday and Wednesday of this week (don’t question it’s accuracy, but I know it was hot), I found myself turning the volume knob of my car stereo a couple of extra clicks to the right and fully embracing the April Summer. Despite the fact that every time you refresh Pitchfork’s website and a new one of these girl-fronted, lo-fi, garage rock groups comes into creation, I can’t help but love almost every single one of them. Sure we’re probably reaching a saturation point but they fit so well with the oncoming season that I don’t care if I have one hundred bands that end in the word “Girl(s)” or have some type of sun/beach/surf association in their name by mid-July. Call me a sucker, but here are some of my favorites so far:

Dum Dum Girls
Photobucket

Vivian Girls
Photobucket

Frankie and The Outs
Photobucket

Best Coast
Photobucket

Leave a Reply

