ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

Getting Comical

Posted in comics by arcanedufresne on April 14, 2010

As some of you may know, I have found a rekindled interest in comic books over the past couple years. I guess most of my interest in them throughout my life stems from hanging around nerdy friends at the time (Scott) but it also makes me realize that I’m pretty nerdy, too. Anyway, I felt like giving a quick rundown of some of the things I have been reading and one thing that I cannot wait to read after stumbling upon it in some comic blog.

Sweet Tooth – This series was fun and intriguing at first, but then I got bored somewhere in the middle. Luckily, issue #8 got me excited again for the future of Gus and Mr. Jeppard.

Photobucket

Brightest Day – Blackest Night leads to the Brightest Day, makes sense right? What a dumb name, but I hope this is awesome because I did like Blackest Night and Deadman is not dead anymore.

Photobucket

Siege – I haven’t followed all the side stories in Thor, Thunderbolts, Dark Avengers, etc, because that gets expensive, but the actual Siege line has been really awesome and all I want to know is…HOW THE HELL ARE THEY GOING TO STOP SENTRY!?!?

Photobucket

Nemesis – Imagine if a super rich, vigilante-esque Bruce Wayne type character decided to pursuit a super twisted life of terroristic crime. That’s what Nemesis is and it was written by Mark Millar so there is some potential here. The dialogue was a little weak in the first issue but I was a fan of Steve McNiven’s artwork.

Photobucket

Daytripper – Listen, I won’t lie, after a couple issues, I still didn’t understand what was going on. The guy just keeps dying, but I keep reading hoping I figure something out. What does it all mean?

Photobucket

Captain American & Black Panther: Flags of Our Fathers – Normally, I’m not a huge Captain America fan, but when I opened this up and saw that it was set during the rise of Hitler during World War II and that Cap and BP would be fighting Nazis, I had to get and was not at all disappointed. I can’t help that WWII interests me to no end.

Photobucket

Cowboy Ninja Viking – I can’t wait to catch up on this as the 5th issue dropped today. Basically, people with multiple personality disorder are trained to be government counterintelligence assassins and they all go rogue and do bad guy things and the only person that can save the day is the one trainee that did not pick a life of crime, and he is Cowboy Ninja Viking.

Photobucket

Sandman – Scott gave me the gigantic, ultimate, super, hardback edition of the Neil Gaiman classic and I am about to start the undertaking, no matter how intimidating it looks.

Photobucket
8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lefebves said, on April 14, 2010 at 11:19 PM

    Wow I may actually try to read one of these by the descriptions you just gave so far cowboy ninja Viking sounds like my best bet.

    • arcanedufresne said, on April 15, 2010 at 9:07 AM

      How many different email addresses can you comment from?

  2. newbie said, on April 15, 2010 at 6:25 PM

    Where is Irredeemable on this list???? And words hurt Matt… words hurt.

    • arcanedufresne said, on April 16, 2010 at 8:49 AM

      I knew I forgot one.

  3. annie said, on April 15, 2010 at 6:56 PM

    Nice rundown. I want them all.

    • arcanedufresne said, on April 16, 2010 at 8:48 AM

      Let’s start a comic exchange, I know Scott is in.

      • annie said, on April 16, 2010 at 10:43 PM

        Does that mean I have to forfeit my Scott Pilgrims? I’ll do it. I’m ready enough.

      • arcanedufresne said, on April 17, 2010 at 11:34 AM

        yes it does


Leave a Reply

