ar·cane (är-kān') adj. requiring secret or mysterious knowledge;

Top Ten Hip Hop and R&B Albums/Mixtapes of 2010

Posted in music, Uncategorized by arcanedufresne on January 13, 2011

Sorry for the delay on this (seems like a common phrase here, eh?) but it took me a little research through my iTunes, iPod, last.fm, etc. to make sure I got this right and I feel pretty good about the list. Air your grievances in the comments haters.

1) Big Boi – Sir Lucious Leftfoot: The Son of Dusty Chico
The battle for number one was tight, but Andre Patton seized the throne with wordplay on another echelon. Couple it with some super sick beats and this album was almost completely perfect (sorry but that Vonnegut chorus is the worst thing ever).

Best Track: Shine Blockas feat. Gucci Mane

2) Das Racist – Sit Down, Man / Shut Up, Dude
Sit Down, Man introduced the world to DR with their intelligent lyricism, albeit a little “jokey” to really dig on at times and then they released Shut Up, Dude, upped their wordplay infinitely and toed the line between bangers, bravado and buffoonery and knocked everyone on their asses. Well played, sirs.

Best Track: Rappin 2 U feat. Lakutis

3) Big Sean – Finally Famous Vol. 3
Big Sean will blow in 2011 like Wiz did in 2010. Some of the wittiest punchlines and swag on top of swag.

Best Track: What U Doin ‘Bull$#!@ING’

4) Drake – Thank Me Later
Guys, I don’t want to put Drake this high on the list. But every time I listened to the album, I dug it more and more and more until it ended up stuck on blast for about a month straight. Whaddayagunnado? Jeezy’s raspy hook on Unforgettable was enough to warrant this position probably.

Best Track: Unforgettable feat. Young Jeezy

5) Wiz Khalifa – Kush & OJ
So yeah, Wiz blew up. He always had this weird fratrow college kid following that I never really understood but Black and Yellow hit and he’s in it now. Kush & OJ is the mellowest, get super mellow mixtape and the Wiz I dig the most.

Best Track: Pedal to the Metal feat. Johnny Juliano

6) Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
Every Kanye album becomes more theatrical and more dramatic and on MBDTF it works. The album has a rock opera feel to it, so I guess that makes Kanye the Queen (the band, not lady ruler) of hip-hop.

Best Track: Devil In A New Dress feat. Rick Ross

7) Big Krit – K.R.I.T. Wuz Here
Way slept on, K.R.I.T. Wuz Here really killed it for me. Just the right amount of southern country and mellow flow. Seriously go check this tape out.

Best Track: No Wheaties feat. Curren$y and Smoke DZA

8.) Curren$y – Pilot Talk I & II
I feel like we could the Pilot Talk releases a double album. I haven’t given PTII a ton of spins since it just dropped, and it’s a little more mellow than PTI, but it makes a slick one-two punch. Part of the reason Curren$y is so impressive is because his subject matter covers about four or five topics, yet he finds a way to release more (good) music than almost any other rapper out.

9) OddFutureWolfGangKillThemAll – Every album (Tyler the Creator, Earl Sweatshirt, Mellowhype, Oddfuture, Domo Genesis, etc.)
Offensive. Abrasive. Talented. You’ll either love or hate them, but regardless you’ve got respect their drive and skills.

Best Track: Earl Sweatshirt – Earl (So many songs here, this was just a grab out of the air that I dig)

10) J. Cole – Friday Night Lights & The Warm Up
Got love for Jay’s protege. 2011 will be big for J. Cole and 2010’s mixtapes were just…a warm up??

Best Track: Grown Simba

Honorable Mention: The-Dream – Love King, The Roots – How I Got Over, Rick Ross – Teflon Don, How To Dress Well – Love Remains (not sure if it counts but it’s R&B, right?)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Allen said, on February 9, 2011 at 12:25 PM

    Your list is amazing. Best song on Sir Lucious is a four way tie though, General Patton, Fo Yo Sorrows, Royal Flush (bonus track that J Cole aslo remixed), and Shine Blockas. Dissapointmed to not see T.I. “No Mercy” on this list. He is the King, for lack of a better title, and should be recognized.
    ps. Twista’s new album suprised me as well.

    • arcanedufresne said, on February 9, 2011 at 1:05 PM

      T.I. needs to earn his respect back from me. Paper Trail destroyed my adoration of his craft and I have been hesitant to jump back in.


Leave a Reply

